comment 0

…a homemaker

Megan stopped by today and brought me a slice of pie that SHE MADE!!
IN THE DORM at Dana College!!

She has mentioned for a long time that she wants to be a homemaker. A mom.
I do not think of her as domestic nor motherly.
Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

But am I such an expert?
What did I know when I started out?
My dream was to work in children’s television programming. I got a GREAT job here in Blair, learning about and doing local television programming. It was a wonderful job for a young girl with no ties. I worked alot, had fun, and learned so much.

Then I met Dan.

And everything changed. We became friends. And fell in love. And got married. And became a family.

I never thought about staying home. Actually, I just never thought about it.
When I became pregnant, I just quit my job. And I rested. And built a nest.

And I’ve never left that nest.
One of my little birds is leaving, though. Megan.
I haven’t prepared her well enough. I’ve done it for her. I have failed her in some ways.

We grew and learned together.
Her personality is stronger than mine. How did that happen?
People tell me that I am also strong. She isn’t much different.

I’m a homemaker.
I’m a mom.
I’m a volunteer.
I’m a wife.
And I’m proud to be all of these.

I don’t think I could work outside the home. That is too hard. It takes organization and work. I’m not made of that.
My mother did not work outside the home when I was growing up.
But I never thought about it.

I don’t have an "empty nest" feel, though.
I’ve always had my own interests. I’m pretty happy, actually.
But being a homemaker is a hard job. The work never ends. My husband mentioned once to me that he gets to leave his job when his day is over. I never get to leave the work. It is always here. The cooking and cleaning up and laundry and shopping and organizing and vaccuuming and bill management and home repairs and boo boo kissing and party planning and…oh it never ends.

Every wife and mother is a homemaker. The mother is the flavor and mood and temperature of the home.
And this is MY home.
Dsc00191

Everyone else just LIVES here!!!

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

Leave a Reply

