comments 2

friday……

Even though I don’t work, I still like Friday’s.
And even though I’m not in school anymore, I still like snowdays.

Today, I battled one of my fears.
Going to the D E N T I S T.
Been putting that one off…for a year.
It was even making me slightly upset.
So, this past Monday I called them, and wouldn’t you know it….they had an opening THIS WEEK!!
On Friday!
Today!

sigh

So, I went.
Don’t get me wrong, I love the man who is my dentist and the staff takes really good care of me. And I verbalize what I do and don’t want.
Don’t talk to me.
Do give me nitrous for ALL visits.
Do give me the earphones.
Do give me the new toothbrush.

I remember many years ago, I had a rough appointment…maybe a crown? That night, I saw my dentist out and he gave my cheek a little kiss.
I’ll always remember that. He cares.
He and his wife have great hearts….and they recently had a terrible tragedy.
I came UNGlued at their son’s funeral because at the time, we were having some issues at our own house. I can’t IMAGINE loosing a child. No matter WHAT age they are. It would be unbearable.
Yet, they are bearing it with grace.

And I complain about a visit to the dentist.

He has that gnawing pain all the time now, and no amount of nitrous or novicaine will cover it.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

2 Comments

  1. oh, how awful! I can’t imagine that kind of pain! At least your tooth pain will go away. I’m sad now.

  2. Carol

    Reminds me of MY dentist. He is so loving and so tender. I AM SCARED TO DEATH every time I go, I don’t know why. He doesn’t hurt me. Once I had bad pain in the middle of the night, and he asked me if I could make it to his office. He met me at 3 a.m. and fixed me. In my mind he’s the world’s best dentist.

    In December he retired and turned over his business to someone else. I’m never going to the dentist again.

Leave a Reply

