comments 5

back on the bus…..

Img_1218

Tickets. Simple tickets.
Img_1226

Tickets to Meet David Cassidy.
And I stood in line. And got more nervous. And kinda dizzy.
It’s silly.
The whole thing was silly. But silly as it was, I was in line to meet David Cassidy.
With other people who wanted to meet him and talk to him and just be with him.
To remember a more innocent time. A time that was very different from today. Back in the early 70’s.
When we got on the bus every Friday night with the Partridge Family.
And I spent all my babysitting money on teen magazines and my pink bedroom was covered with David Cassidy posters.
And I kissed them good-night.
And I dreamed about him.
And never stopped thinking about what it would be like to meet him.
But never even THINKING it would ever happen.
But I was in line.
To meet and greet David Cassidy.
Img_1229_edited

And he shook my hand and said,
"Happy Mother’s Day, Sweetheart".
And I said it was very special to me to meet him.
And I was truly in shock.
And it was over.
And then this 56 year old man did a 90 minute concert and he held my hand twice.
Img_1256copy

And for a few hours, I was back on the bus.
Filled with happiness and innocence and disbelief that I had met him.
Img_1314

And my very FAVORITE man took 218 photos so I could remember the day. He doesn’t understand the infatuation, but he accepts that I like him. And that’s all he needs to know.
What a lucky, lucky girl I am.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

5 Comments

  1. Carol

    It WAS fabulous, wasn’t it. Here I am, crying at work again. Darn you Mary Beth! And I love you, by the way!

  2. I’m all teary eyed now, too!!! So glad you got the chance to get that hug!!!!! You ARE a very lucky girl…make Dan his favorite yummy treat when he gets home. Tell him you’ll only bake bread for him! tee hee!

  3. SoulKiss

    Congrats!! :). Even his shirt matches yours! I’m happy for you.

  4. Is he really 56???????? I used to send him love letters and was sure the song “I Think I Love You” was really written for me!!!! You lucky duck!!!
    BTW…you don’t know me, but I know Cari….and I have been lurking around your blog. Now I know you are cool…you also loved David Cassidy!!!!

  5. Beth S.

    Hi Mary Beth, I finally got around to checking out your blog, and I must say I love it! What a delight it was to see your post about meeting David. Isn’t it cool that your clothes are color coordinated? Are you sure he didn’t call you and ask what you were wearing??? Anyway, you met David. Sigh. You know I am sooooo jealous! And doesn’t he look so good for 56? You lucky girl!!

Leave a Reply

