comments 2

the westergard team….

My search for a home at Okoboji started about 35 years ago. Well, it didn’t take THAT long. But I spent some really fun summers up there, staying in a small cabin on a compound with several other families who were friends of my parents. I played with what seemed like hundreds of kids and read lots of books.

For the last several years, we have shared a condo on the golf course with some other family members and were so happy to have at week or two or three at Okoboji.

Things change.
And we have the opportunity to get our own place on the water.

I started searching on the internet for realtors and began looking at properties.
I’d look at the photos very closely.
Imagine me or my family at that location.

Dream that night about the house.

I did this for months. I e-mailed the realtors, asking questions about properties.
Some did not respond.
Some gave me a quick, hurried, thoughtless one-word reply.

One stood out.
One.
Their website is beautiful. The photos are large and clear. The information is all there.

And
They
Answer
E-mails.

Okoboji Realty was a perfect fit for me. I drove to Okoboji to see some condos. I told Sue Westergard my story, my dreams, my plans, my history, my ideal.
And she showed me some condos.
And she showed me some houses.

And I let some time pass. And contacted her again, and we looked again.

And I remember how she carefully took care of the dead mouse in the bathtub of that house…..soon to be known as the Mouse House.

And I remember how tired I was after looking at all the wrong places.
We aren’t condo people.
We wanted a home on the lake.

Thanks, Sue and Kirk, for helping make our dreams come true.

Thanks for spending time with us when I didn’t like anything.
Thanks for taking us out to lunch.
Thanks for picking us up at the airport several times.
Thanks for always answering e-mails right away. Even at Night. Late at night.
Thanks for doing all the paperwork.
Thanks for measuring for me at short notice.
Thanks for making it all happen.
Thanks for being our first friends at the Lake.

We can’t wait to start our Okoboji Memories.
Img_1412

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

2 Comments

  1. Hooray!!!!! Hooray!!!!
    It looks and sounds like it was worth the wait!!!!
    I’m so happy for you!!!!

Leave a Reply

