comment 1

back in the day….

I had a job
Photo_2006_6_27_16_57_46copy

This was one of the more glamorous days at Entgerview Cable.
DeSoto Bend had done a fish kill a week earlier, and I was out there filming the aftermath.
I loved my job.
I really did.
People often ask me how I ended up in Blair.
I had graduated from Iowa State University with a degree in Journalism and Advertising.
That’s right. "Do you want Fries with that?".
Anyway, my first job "in my major" was here in Blair. I was gonna work here just for a while, and then maybe move on after I had some experience.
But I met Dan. And I loved Blair.
My job was very exciting. I wrote news that appeared as type on the TV. Channel 18. I helped sell ads, write, film, produce, and edit commercials that we inserted into local sports events. We filmed baseball, football and basketball games and re-played them on TV.
I learned alot there…..at Enterview Cable.
I made hardly a living wage, lived in a basement apartment with only a waterbed and a few pieces of furniture (which I still have) that my parents let me take.
I ate 1/2 can of soup for lunch and saved the other half for dinner.
I drove a yellow AMC Spirit car that only started when it was above 40* and shimmied if you went over 55. It was a shifter car! I hated getting stuck going west at 90th and Dodge. You had to both hold in the clutch and the brake and hope the car didn’t stall!

Megan is about where I was then.

I saw a quote the other day on a plaque at a store.

"Give them Roots and Give them Wings".

I hope I’ve done that. I hope now that she’s starting her own life, she has roots and wings.
And I hope she doesn’t fly very far away…………

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

1 Comment so far

Leave a Reply

