comments 3

I’ve just about had it….

…with shopping.
Shopping is about the ONLY reason I leave my home. And I’m just about DONE with THAT reason.
I had to go to Omaha today for a meeting at the 72nd & Dodge Borders Bookstore. It was for the publicity committee for Omaha Area Youth Orchestra….but I’m off my soapbox. Gotta get back on.

I’m SICK of snooty, snide, power-hungry, CLERKS.
Those who comment on my purchases.
"Wow. You buy alot of Oreos."
Those who ignore me.
"Do you have more of these in the back? Hello?"
Those who hold my credit card HOSTAGE as I sign it.
Those who ask for ID with such imPORtance.
(This happened recently at my bank and I was crushed.)
Those who igNORE me.
Those who are more imPORTant than me in their own minds.
(This happened at Pottery Barn and I will think again about going in there again.)

I’m older than I used to be.
I don’t dress up to the nines when I go shop. I dress comfortable.
But I still have a wallet and a brain and I don’t require much to make me happy in a store.
I’m pretty happy to be left alone to wander.
But DON’T act like you are so mighty and powerful because YOU are holding MY credit card while I sign my John Hancock on the tiny piece of paper and then you pretend to compare signatures.

I should probably just start using cash for purchases.
I should probably just not go in stores anymore.

But I love looking and touching and getting ideas and inspiration. I love the people-watching and making up stories in my head about who I see. I love finding just the right thing.

If only I didn’t have to bother with CLERKS.
Self-check-outs cannot come soon enough!
But, until then, I’m gonna get re-acquainted with my old friend, Amazon.com.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

3 Comments

  1. Move over girl, let me hop up on that soapbox with you! Can you pass the Oreos? Yesterday I was in the mall and was browsing through some cute shirts in the juniors department (shopping for my niece.) I asked the clerk if she could find a certain shirt in a smaller size and she had the nerve to roll her eyes and look at me as if to say “You will never fit a small!” (Too bad she was right.) Got any milk?

  2. Carol

    72nd and Dodge. What a small world Mary Beth. The company I work for owns the Noodles & Co. restaurant at 72nd & Dodge! Want a coupon???

  3. Power hungry-maybe…
    maybe the three ladies who came in before you treated them like crap and made them feel worthless…
    maybe the store numbers are down and the manager passed on to them thr tongue lashing he had just gotten from his district manager…
    maybe the shiny fun newness has worn off of working in the coolest store in town and now has become “work” to them…
    maybe they held your card hostage because the store was taken advantage of someone before you and now they must be less trusting of all their customers because of corporate policy…
    maybe the attitude you were given had nothing to do with the fact that you were standing in front of them at that particular moment in their lives…
    It was probably a symptom of a whole other problem that had nothing to do with the way you were dressed or what you were buying…
    maybe that power at that moment is the only control in their lives right now…
    don’t let someone else’s bad day become yours…
    only you have the power to choose your path for the day…
    shake it off and smile…
    and say “Are you having a bad day, because you really don’t look happy to be taking my money…I hope it gets better, you deserve it.”
    Turn that person’s day around with kind words and a smile…

    if that doesn’t work…key their car.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

