comment 1

coloring outside the lines….

Book3
This is by my oldest friend.
She’s an artist. She was born that way.
And now, she’s an author.

How
cool
is
that?!

I’ve ordered her book.
A few months ago, she cooked spaghetti sauce for me and mailed it overnight for a party I was having because she is Italian and I’m not and her recipe is better than Ragu in a Jar.
And we met in 4th grade. I was new. She was new the year before.
She is small and dark haired and Italian and from a big family.
I am taller, red-head, Irish and from a small family.
She had sisters everywhere at her big old house. We played in the attic for hours. We debated David Cassidy vs. Donny Osmond vs. Bobby Sherman vs. Michael Jackson. Her house was loud and full of voices and people and love. My house had love, too, but was smaller and quieter and less chaotic. We loved both our houses.
We are still different.
I think I color INSIDE the lines.
She colors OUTSIDE.
But we still are friends.
For something like 36 years!!!

Congratulations to you, Laura, on the publishing of your book.
I hope I can make it to a reading!!!

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

1 Comment so far

  1. Mary Elizabeth,
    You always know what to say. What is amazing is I sat down to write a story several years ago (I was still a Hall) called “my very dear friend” . I still have the rough draft. I think I didn’t finish it because there wasn’t an eanding to the story. And everyoneknows a good composition has a beginning a middle and an end. Here’s to you, my oldest friend!
    I love you,
    Laura
    P.S. YOU met David Cassidy! all I did was write a book….sigh

Leave a Reply

