comments 3

funerals are for the living….

Dan and I went to a funeral today.
And I watched an interesting thing happen through the course of the morning.
When we entered the church, it was heavy with sadness. People were quiet. This church has TWO places for services, and we sat in the "overflow" room and watched the funeral on video screens. I saw the family walk in, supporting each other, and sit down.
It was emotional watching that.
Then, with flowers and music and prayers and words, the heaviness lifted.
And the family walked out, together, and went to the cemetary.
And we all waited at the church.
For them to come back. And we chatted about Emmet. And other things.
Because our lives were moving on.
And so were the lives of that family.

And they returned.
Relieved it was almost over. Relieved the funeral was done. Relieved for the relief.
And we all ate.
And volunteers from the church served us.
Because that’s what they do to help heal broken hearts and dry tears and support the conversation.

And the color in the room turned brighter.
But we are all changed because of the death of Emmet Rogert.
He was friendly and humble and nice and he served the community of Blair and he raised 7 children with his equally friendly and humble and nice wife and they were an example of how to act.

nice.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

3 Comments

  1. Suzanne Rogert

    Mary Beth,
    Rick sent me the link to this site, it’s darling. Thank you so much for the very kind words about my father, Emmett. As Patty said in the eulogy, I think he would be truly humbled by everyone’s show of kindness. I don’t think he ever thought he was doing anything out of the ordinary, just what needed to be done and what was right. He did, indeed, teach us by example.
    As we head into December, best wishes to your family for a blessed holiday season.
    Suzanne Rogert

  2. Patty Plugge

    Mary Beth,

    That is simply beautiful. I’m printing it out at my mom’s request. Your words also heal, as reading them has reminded me how many lives my dad touched. I am so proud of him. And he would be overwhelmed at the outpouring of support that we have received.

    Again, thank you.

    Patty

  3. Joanie Rogert

    What a thoughtful and heartfelt thing to write. It is so comforting to know that our dad touched others. I am so appreciative that you took the time to write what you were feeling, and it truly does help to mend our broken hearts. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

