comment 1

Mentors…

I was watching Martha Stewart on Thursday and she mentioned that her mother had had a stroke.
THE Martha was verklempt for Martha, so I knew it wasn’t good.
Big Martha died on Friday evening.
I know Martha Stewart relied on her mother and saw her as a mentor. I loved it when her mom came on her show and cooked something. Big Martha would say, "you stir this for 2 minutes and then add a bit of celery salt". THE Martha would say, "you never told me to add celery salt" and Big Martha would just laugh.
THE Martha never laughed about it, though.

There are so many women mentors in my life.
My own mom, of course. She has so many friends. I wish I had gotten that gene. Both of my parents are very social, fun to be around, and have so many friends in so many cities.
There’s my mother in law….who helps me whenever and wherever I need it.
There’s my other mother, Mary Sully.
And Mary Morrison who I can feel standing over my shoulder when I’m writing here. And Claudia Dolezal who taught me so much about parenting when I babysat for her. Grandmothers who were generous with their time and spoiled me rotten.
And my daughter, who I learn something from all the time.

Not a Mother’s Day post….just thankful.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

1 Comment so far

  1. I read about Big Martha in the paper, I was so sad, I loved it when she was on Martha’s show, because they were instantly back in Big Martha’s kitchen as Martha was growing up, you could just see the dynamic switch from powerful business woman, to daughter trying to be just like her mother. We are all so much alike, it is just scary and comforting all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

