comment 1

The Deck

The only thing we’ve EVER wanted to change at TheHouseAtTheLake was the DECK!!! Everything around it has been demolished, but it still stands.

Maybe it’s an omen?

My biggest problem with it is that I cannot sit in a chair on the deck and see the water. The construction of the railing is wrong.
And the deck is TOO SMALL!!!
We want it to go the whole length of the house. We’d even like to put in TWO more sliding doors. One in the living room and one in the bedroom.

Img_4893_edited

So, take that line of the bottom of the deck and just draw it across the whole back of the house.

Fgallery14

Our first inclination is to do a glass railing. There are lots of other options, too.

Top33_edited

Mmc00004_1a

Mmc00004_2a

Oh man, THIS one is so beautiful! I love the industrial look of the railing.

Austinprojectafter10

Here’s where I imagine what the view will be when I wake up each morning in my room.
Oh.
I mean Grandma Florida’s room.

Diningareas12

I also love wrought iron.

Kdc05045_4a

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

1 Comment so far

  1. Teresa H.

    So sorry about your lovely HouseAtTheLake! I can’t believe how much damage was done. Love your attitude, though. Typical Mary Beth! I can tell you’re moving on from what had to be devastation to “okay, now I get to remodel…this could be our ‘silver lining’ ’cause we get to re-do things exactly how we want them.” I have friends with a cabin on the lake, and their deck has a railing system similiar to the last picutre. It works great! Doesn’t obstruct the view and really fits with their cabin’s “look.” Keep your chin up!

Leave a Reply

