comments 4

A post from the Mama Bird…

The hardest thing I’ve ever done was give birth to Matt.

Loaded up for College.

Loaded up for College.

Exit to UNL

Exit to UNL

The Stadium!

The Stadium!

11th Floor Abel Hall.

11th Floor Abel Hall.

There are no words for this hug.
There are no words for this hug.
And then he took the first steps to starting his life...

And then he took the first steps to starting his life...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The hardest thing I’ve done is give birth to him. It was painful and scary and long.
And then he was here.
We made it through together.
Now, I’m thinking letting him go ranks right up there with birthing this boy.
But when he turned around and looked…..and I was still there……I knew it was going to be all right.

He stopped to wave goodbye. And then went in.

He stopped to wave goodbye. And then went in.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We’ll always be there for you bud.
Good Luck with Navy ROTC, and classes, and learning the campus and the dining halls and laundry and Physical Training and all that goes with college.
You’ll do fine.

And so will we.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

4 Comments

  1. Mama Bird –
    Great post! Nice photo essay that says it all.
    Returning to that empty nest must be strange. Matt will do just great, I’m sure.

    Hope all is well with you.

    Love,
    Hitch & Sharon

  2. Teresa H.

    I’m wiping a tear from my eyes. I remember when Matt was born…it wasn’t that long ago! I know you’re supposed to look forward to the empty nest, but I don’t think I can. I guess I’m just feeling weepy ’cause Ellan started high school yesterday. Soon she’ll be the one walking that long hallway. Good luck Matt – I know you’ll do great!

  3. What a sweet entry. I love it. Great school, I go to the U of MN and love it. He’ll do well! Dorm life is one of my best memories : )

  4. Pingback: Month O Fun….Day 3 «

Leave a Reply

