comments 2

What does it take to fly a plane?

MUNNY!

pb280026_edited-1

Our plane needed some maintenance, so we killed two birds with one stone and had it done in Spencer, Iowa, and while these guys were working, we spent the afternoon at TheHouseAtTheLake.

The REAL reason?
We went up there to see if the place was Okay.
If it was still dry.
If it was still there.
We think about that house whenever we aren’t there, which is often this time of year.
(This past January, 97,000 gallons of water exploded in our home from an inside shower pipe and then froze. We had a whole house remodel…..) And we also have a New Best Friend at the Lake….

A WATER SHUT OFF SWITCH!!!!!

The S W I T C H

The S W I T C H

I usually sit in the back seat of the plane and let Jeeves Dan fly me around. He enjoys sitting up there and pushing all the buttons. ME? The sight of a runway makes me nauseaus and I usually shut my eyes and hope I don’t throw up.

Dan says any landing where you walk away is a good landing.

Dan says any landing where you walk away is a good landing.

I trust him TOTALLY. He’s a good pilot. An EXCELLENT pilot. He grew up flying around and his Dad is a pilot. They are a flying family.
Me?
I’m from a MOTEL family. Give me a few soft pillows and room service, and I’m good.

Anyway, I forgot to bring my magazines to pass the time, so I spent several minutes with my nose pressed up against the 23 degree window pane, looking at the Cinnamon And Sugar landscape below me.
I’ve said it before and I say it again every season.
There is No Place More Beautiful Than IOWA.

pb270009_edited-11pb270010_edited-1pb270011_edited-1pb270012_edited-1pb270013_edited-1pb270015_edited-1pb270016_edited-1pb270017_edited-1pb270018_edited-1

There had been a tiny dusting of snow the night before and it looked like Martha Stewart herself had been there to glitter the land.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

2 Comments

  1. Peter Arts

    Excellent work, enjoyed the Blogery (?) Is that a real word?

    I had a cold one with Dad last night and i mentioned you were going to THEHOUSEONTHELAKE the diverted to Spencer.I said they must be going to see if the house was still there, great minds think alike.

  2. grand Catherine

    Love the pictures. I love the new lites in our bath. Is the mirror getting put up too????? Just a question. Have a good week. Love, CCCCCCCC

Leave a Reply

