comments 3

Free Soup!

Didn’t Leave the House Day….for several reasons.

1. It is a legal holiday for me…..TheBestDayOfTheYear…..
2. The Weather Outside was Frightful…

CcccCCcccold and WWWwwwwwindyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

CcccCCcccold and WWWwwwwwindyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

3. My MomVan is acting up. Leaking something. Making grinding metal sounds. I just turned it off and will wait for the Spring Thaw.

But what to eat? I’ve been saving bits of this and that in my freezer for
Just
This
Day!

Free Soup!

Free Soup!

Homemade Chicken Stock…..some Frozen Onion, Carrot and Celery mixture…..some frozen Carmelized Onions…..Frozen Cooked Chicken….Broken Fettucini Noodles…..a few Almost Old Potatoes left from Christmas Dinner…..mix together and make something that smells like heaven and tastes even better!

I LOVE my stock pan and Ladle.

I LOVE my stock pan and Ladle.

Best of all, when the CuteHusbandButNotReallyACarMechanic came home from the Salt Mines he said….

"MMMmmmmmmm. That Smells GOOD!"

"MMMmmmmmmm. That Smells GOOD!"

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

3 Comments

  1. Teresa H.

    You know that if I threw a bunch of leftover stuff together from my freezer it would taste like…a bunch of leftover stuff from the freezer! We got caught in the blizzard yesterday. I stayed at work until 7:30 p.m. (just in case we had to take stranded travelers), then spent the night in town at Natalie’s in-laws (with Nat and her kids – we had a slumber party!). I sent my kids home with neighbors at 3 p.m. (it took them an hour to get home – it usually takes 15 minutes). David was by his lonesome on the farm trying to keep the home fires burning. What a wintery day – we certainly do live in Nebraska!

  2. Grand Catherine

    Hi there. I am off to the Y for a little exercise and I am hopeing when I get home there will be great homemade soup here and making the house smell like some wonderful cook lives here. Your soup looks delicious. I know you have homemade bread also. Right???? With great butter on the side????? I better go now. Later, CCCCCCCCCC

  3. Grand Catherine

    By the way we are also having a cold wave. Will be about 50 here tonight and then about 65-70 tomorrow. I will probably have to stay in as the car wont start. Love, CCCCCCCCCC

Leave a Reply

