comment 1

the one about the strawberries

Another thing I’ve wanted to do for several years is go pick stawberries at Gettings Gardens near Sanborn, Iowa. I’ve seen their sign from the road and heard the commercials on the radio and decided last Thursday to finally just do it! Our good friends, the Sullys, were going to be at Okoboji for the 4th, so I’d have lots of people available to eat those berries!

The picking went well. I didn’t take my camera in there because I didn’t want to carry it.
But on the way home, as I was singing along to my David Cassidy CD…..
A ROCK from a mower on the other side of the road was propelled into my driver side window.
It sounded like a shotgun. A low sounding BOOM.

windowcollage

The rock broke my window  AS I WAS DRIVING.
It was repaired today.
And that accident has affected me in such a peculiar way. 
My MomVan….8 years old with almost 120,0o0 miles, protected me in ways I cannot explain.
The window shattered and remained intact until the pieces of glass started falling apart, little by little, falling inside the van and outside on the road.
The rock did not hit me.
The window was the barrier.
I was not injured or cut.
I went off the road and the van drove right back up onto the road.
And that van just kept on going, taking me home.
And my dad took care of the vehicle. And my husband took care of the insurance. And my mom took care of me.

If my window had been open, the rock would have hit me in the head. I probably would have been injured.
Instead, I was able to eat strawberries with some good friends.

The sweetest strawberries I've ever had.

The sweetest strawberries I've ever had.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

1 Comment so far

  1. Carol

    OMG, sorry about the mom-van. Glad you’re ok. I’m quite sure it was the David Cassidy music that saved you LOL.

Leave a Reply

