comment 0

Iowa Pork Tenderloin

I played Top Chef tonight and cooked a meal with no recipe and just stuff in my refrigerator.
It turned out pretty good!
I cut up and sauted an onion, some celery, some carrot and an apple. I later added 1 clove of chopped garlic.

onionapplecarrotcelery-1
Then added the tenderloin to the pan to just sear it on the outside.
After searing, I added my secret ingredients…..
sedretingredients-1
Pumpkin Beer and the BEST Apple Juice in the world. And some water (or chicken broth would work too).
I brought that to a boil and let the meat cook in the liquid until it registered 155* on the thermometer.

porktenderloin-1
I fussed with it, stirred it, and partially put a lid on it while it cooked.
When the meat was done, I put it on the counter to rest.
Then I put the liquid through a sieve to get rid of vegetables.
I then made a roux with a plop of butter and some leftover bacon grease (from breakfast).
I added some water (like 1/3 cup) to deglaze the pan. Then added the brazing liquid and let it boil until it was slightly thichened.
I cut the meat in slices and let it sit in the sauce for a minute or two to reheat.
Tonight it was served with a baked potato, but spaetzle might also taste good!

platedpork-1
It tasted pretty good! The sauce is a BIT on the sweet side.
It was fun to cook without a recipe!

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

Leave a Reply

