comment 0

Monticello

everythingisinvented
If you click on the link of this wonderful image, you go to the New York Times Blogger Maira Kalman. It is her post about Benjamin Franklin.

I found her by searching for some information about Thomas Jefferson and Monticello, which I visited last week when we stayed at the best hotel ever…The Greenbrier.
I took my camera but could not take any photos of the inside of Jefferson’s home……the reason?
The harassed guide said it was because some relatives had not given permission for the FURNITURE TO BE PHOTOGRAPHED.
(cue the crickets…..)
I think it was because they hauled SO MANY people through there, it would slow down the tour process. The tours run Room to Room to Room and are all timed so the advancement to the next room happens all at the same time.

See the que on the porch? Stop. Listen. Advance. Move.

See the que on the porch? Stop. Listen. Advance. Move.

But Maira has a really nice story about Thomas Jefferson and Monticello.
Her drawings are EXACTLY what the inside looks like…..apparently, SHE had a little more time inside than I did…….

I mostly took pictures of architecture…of the house and the beautiful visitor center.

Beautiful trim on the UNDERSIDE at Monticello

Beautiful trim on the UNDERSIDE at Monticello

Love the pattern on the green bench at Monticello.

Love the pattern on the green bench at Monticello.

Love the curley-que railing at Monticello

Love the curley-que railing at Monticello

The railing. The garden. The view.

The railing. The garden. The view.

TourGuide says "Done. Get to the Gift Shop".

TourGuide says "Done. Get to the Gift Shop".

Monticello has a beautiful theater, museum, gift shop and restaurant in their visitor center area.

Monticello has a beautiful theater, museum, gift shop and restaurant in their visitor center area.

Love this bench so much I could eat it for dessert.

Love this bench so much I could eat it for dessert.

My favorite items are stone, concrete, iron and wood. SIGH.

My favorite items are stone, concrete, iron and wood. SIGH.

The simple beauty of a gutter.

The simple beauty of a gutter.

Tom, I love what you've done with the place!

Tom, I love what you've done with the place!

If you can’t get there in person to feel the history of this wonderful place, there are many books!

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

Leave a Reply

