comments 2

The Bread Tube

I made bread tonight in an old Pyrex Bread Tube
breaddoughtube-1

It is called a Bake-A-Round and I found one of Ebay. My grandmother had one in the 70’s….as did almost everyone back then…..and she used frozen bread dough in it.
I used my bread machine to make regular dough, greased the tube with Crisco, and put the dough in the center. Covered the ends with buttered foil and let it rise in a slightly warm oven. A couple of hours later…

bakedtubebread-1

Pretty fun way to bake bread!
The crust was buttery and crispy and the inside was soft.

Here’s my recipe:
3/4  C  of water and milk
2 T sugar
1 t salt
1 T Olive Oil
2 C flour…more if needed. I use half unbleached flour and half bread flour.
1 t. yeast
Add to bread machine and make on dough setting. Remove and put in greased Bread Tube. The bread dough should be in the middle of the tube.
Put buttered foil on ends of tube and rise until the bread fills the tube.
Place glass tube on metal holder and bake at 350* for about 20 minutes.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

