comments 3

Groundhog Day

Yep. ServPro.
Wet Basement.

Nearly SIX INCHES of water in that bucket.
The bucket that was still there from the time before.
Thirty Days to the Day.
May 20. June 20.

The refrigerator water line to the icemaker again. It was fixed. But sprung a leak again. And it leaked. All. Weekend.

My reaction to this “incident” surprised me…..and Dan and Matt.
I was in tears.
I felt kicked in the gut. I took this personal.

My beloved Longaberger Baskets…dripping with water.
Just Water. Clean, filtered water. From the refrigerator. And the baskets will easily dry.
Hardly any THINGS were ruined.

Then I found my wet house plans.
This well-worn set of plans represent about 10 years of dreams and another 10 years of living IN that dream.
And there were men in my kitchen and basement, sucking up water, tearing drywall, ripping ceiling tiles and hauling wet carpets outside, moving furniture.
It was too much for me for a few hours.
I KNOW there are bigger problems in the world. I KNOW this could have been much worse.
But for a brief moment, THIS problem WAS big. To me.

We are still with the WonderMachines that suck out the water from the floors. That will last a couple of days.
Then, the clean up.

I’m better today.
Thank God for Dan. and Matt. and ServPro. and American Family Insurance.
And Thank God I got over myself.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

3 Comments

  1. go hold Alice and it will all seem so unimportant. Sorry your house is squishy, at least it isn’t river water like the folks along the Elkhorn. It could always be worse. Now go hold that baby!

    • mbhunt

      Oh Cari, you are right. It could be SO worse. I’m embarrassed I even FELT this emotional. I cannot imagine……

  2. That sounds awful! I would of cried, too, but then again I cry at the news- lol, it doesn’t take much for me!

    I hope you had a blast in Minneapolis when you were here 🙂 Did you make it to Hunt + Gather? Please say you did!

Leave a Reply

