comment 0

The view

I’ve published the view from my front yard several times. Beautiful farmland as far as the eye can see. I used to say we could see all the way to the North Pole. I would swear at the constant prevailing wind that came from the north.

That beautiful view included an empty lot across the street from my home that I’ve always wanted to develop into a garden. I will call it Red Mittens Farm.

I envision 12 raised garden beds in a circle…..arranged so that when one stands in the center, your body is used as a sundial! Each bed will be one number on the clock. I will also have comfortable (probably plastic) chairs arranged around a firepit.

And an outdoor kitchen with a big grill. Probably a permant large grill with a counter area for cleaning and preparing simple food from the garden.  And a greenhouse. And a storage shed. And water. And electricity. And a big long dining table with a trellis over the top for shade and the ability to hang a chandelier.

But I never knew how to get this dream on paper! I collected magazine pics, online photos and sketched this vision but it never looked right.

Then I saw this contest from Hayneedle’s facebook page! Win a $10,000 backyard! The BEST BEST thing about the contest is they sell all the items I had in my dream and the contest involves playing around with placing those items in a photo and making a visual picture of your ideal backyard.

Hayneedle contest

The view now with all the flood water.

lot now with flood background

One more day to enter. Go give it a try!

Since I entered the contest, my entire view has been taken over with water from the Missouri River flooding. I am not affected, but the acres and acres of farmland is gone. Homes are gone. People are gone. Generations of farmland will be forever changed. Mother Nature is speaking loud and clear.  It is indeed sad to see this happening to our beautiful Washington County.

Hayneedle is based in Omaha! They have a wonderful story and someday I would like to meet them.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

Leave a Reply

