comment 0

A Refreshing Rhubarb Repast

While I am no longer addicted to Diet Coke, I am NOW addicted to Tazo Pomegranite Plum Bottled Tea.

tazotea

Addiction is a terrible thing. Not only is this tea expensive and hard to find, it has quite a bit of sugar.

I decided to make my own syrup to add to my won tea. My first try was Rhubarb Syrup!

2 cups diced rhubarb

I started with 2 cups freshly picked rhubarb, sliced. Frozen would also work.

LemonPeels

4-5 lemon peels...not the white part, just the peel, from one lemon.

cooking rhubarb

In the pan is 2 cups Rhubarb, 4-5 peels from 1 lemon, 1 Cup Sugar, 3 Cups Water. Cook and Stir until Mushy. You could also add a handful of strawberries.

Draining the Rhubarb

Drain the Rhubarb Mixture in a cheesecloth lined collander over a large bowl. Let it drain for a while. Then refrigerate.

Rhubarb Juice

TaDaaah! Rhubarb Syrup!

Q Tonic Water

I mixed my Rhubarb Syrup with Q Tonic Water. You could mix the juice with anything, though. Sparkling Water, Other Fruit Juices, or Tea.

Q Tonic and Rhubarb Juice

Clean. Crisp. Refreshing. Delicious. Q Tonic and Homemade Rhubarb Syrup.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

Leave a Reply

