comment 1

The Chocolate she is Hot!

I make my own coffee every day. At home.
And, almost every morning, on occasion, I have some Bailey’s in that coffee…for flavor.
And I drink it while wearing my pajamas.
I don’t leave the house. For much.

My favorite source, Pears Coffee, right here in Omaha, makes a seasonal Mocha flavor that I love and covet when the season is over.
I am a HUGE believer in using good products and King Arthur Flour has the BEST! (Look around at their website for recipes, too.)

To recreate the mocha, I tried to add some powdered hot chocolate mix to my cup, and liked it! I add a big spoonful to my coffee and some Table Cream.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I use this recipe of Alton Brown’s

2 1/2 cups powdered milk (I use King Arthur Dried Whole Milk Powder)
2 cups powdered or confectioner’s sugar
1 cup cocoa powder (I use King Arthur Dutch Process Cocoa Powder)
2 tsp cornstarch (to thicken & stabilize)
1 tsp salt (not kosher salt)
a little cayenne pepper (I use a pinch. Alton used more)

Pour all in a sifter, sift a time or two into a large bowl. Transfer to a container.

To actually make Hot Chocolate
Fill 1/3 of a mug with mix powder
Cover powder with boiling water
Mix to a paste
Fill rest of cup with the hot water, then whisk or stir

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

1 Comment so far

Leave a Reply

