comment 0

Pumpkin Soup made from Pumpkin from a Pumpkin

I picked up some “pie pumpkins” at Wenninghoff’s Farm Store with the SOLE intention of making Pumpkin Soup for my Russian Brother-In-Law. Nathan isn’t really Russian, but he doesn’t know that.
Last Christmas, he asked me to make him some Pumpkin Soup and I tried, but I used Butternut Squash, and I don’t think it was what he wanted.
Tonight was TakeOne on a version to serve at Christmas.

Cut roast Scrape

Leeks Potatoes

stock

serve

It turned out fine. I made the recipe up as I went along but based it off several I found on the internets.
I plan to try this again, but next time, I’ll cut the pumpkin in half, de-seed, and roast upside down on a tray.
Cutting it up dried it out too much.
I added a 1/2 t. of smoked paprika, salt, pepper and a cinnamon stick. I liked that spice combination.

Filed under: Recipes at Red Mittens

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

Leave a Reply

