comments 4

A “loving” letter from TheMartha

Until recently, I had almost ALL 20 years of Martha Stewart Living magazines in my home….safe in a custom built bookcase.
And, until recently, I never looked at them.
But I knew TheMartha wanted me to keep them.

But her TV show is just….So. Bad.
She was MEAN to the guests and her staff and the audience. MEAN.
And the magazine had….changed.

So I took bags and bags and bags of those magazines to my Recycling Center. And never shed a tear.
And I took the TV show off my DVR.

This is what put me over the edge.

Martha Stewart Letter

Followed by THIS friendly gem

Martha Stewart letter 2

I’ve been a loyal subscriber for 20 years.
I bought into it. I bought into the dream. I stuck by her even in Prison. I bought stuff at K-Mart.

I consider these letters to be THREATENING.
My subscription is NOT “overdue”.
I am no longer subscribing. I owe you NOTHING.

You’d THINK that after 20 years, someone would call ME and ask…..”Why are you not subscribing anymore?”
“You are an important component in our business!”
“We’d like you back.”

Instead, a THREAT comes monthly in my mail.
“PAY YOUR OVERDUE BALANCE OR ELSE!”

I’m Done.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I'm a semi-retired mom living smack dab in the middle. Mom to @lasertron and @MattEHunt and new gramma to @aliceelfie. I attended #STS134 #NASAtweetup. I love to cook, hoard magazines and go places with my husband in his Cirrus122.

4 Comments

  1. Rhiannon

    My friend, a lifelong Martha fan, recently went to her show and had her illusion shattered too. She said it was awful and very clear Martha did not care at all for the audience. Terrible shame.

  2. This post lit a light bulb over my head! I’ve been getting similar threatening letters from Marie Claire, which I no longer want to read and don’t remember renewing. I have already submitted to their “overdue” notices once but now it’s happening again. The fact that you had this same experience made me start googling… turns out this is a new business model for magazines. They auto-renew without your consent and then send threatening letters about past due payment to scare people into paying for them. Infuriating! I can’t reach Marie Claire through email or Twitter so I’m going to try snail mail.

Leave a Reply

