comments 3

The “I Had Dental Work Done and Want Chocolate Pie” Birthday Cake

Today I got a special crown on my back tooth that fell off a few years ago. I know. Don’t even say it. I take THIS before each Dentist visit…(Nitrous makes me carsick).

Image

Before I went to the Dentist, I made the pie crust. I used the King Arthur recipe but made it in the food processor using my plastic blade, not the metal one. Now King Arthur says to NOT make it in the food processor at ALL, but I did. Heck, I usually use roll out dough from a box, so this will be fine.

Image

Image

Image

Image

The dough sat in the fridge while I got a new crown and then I came home and baked it, numb from my neck to my hairline. I ask for mucho novacain. Today I am using my cool Vintage Pyrex Hexagonal Pie Plate.

ImageNext up was baking the pie shell and making the homemade chocolate pie filling. I measured the ingredients in a pot and the liquid in a 4 cup Measure. Today I used Trader Joes chocolate and chopped it up. I love using my scale!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Taaa Daaaah!

Image

This might actually be the First Chocolate Cream Pie I’ve made from scratch. I can’t wait to taste it. I used a recipe from RecipeGirl based SOLELY on the picture!Β  I really think this will help my newly crowned tooth feel better.

Image

3 Comments

  1. B.L. Hunt

    Thank goodness the dentist is behind you. I know how much you enjoy going! :-\ 😦 πŸ˜₯

    This must be the reason I had the privilege of spending the day with Alice. πŸ™‚

    The pie looks delicious, though it seems a bit of a wide expansion of the ‘birthday cake’ theme. I guess that’s the advantage of being your own cook!

  2. Pingback: Repost: Chocolate pie recipe | All Things Chocolate

Leave a Reply

