comments 3

Crusty Roasted Garlic Potato Gnocchi Bites

A few days ago, I received a Mystery Box from my friends at EatWriteRetreat, with instructions to make an Amazing Appetizer with the tools and ingredients.

Image

Potatoes and some new OXO tools. (I’m a long time user of OXO products.)

Image

My Go-To snack for a party is a bag of chips and dip. Sometimes I make the dip, but I’ve never tried making Potato Chips. This recipe for Crusty Roasted Garlic Potato Gnocchi Bites will definitely blow the socks off a bag of chips!

Image

First step involved baking 3-4 Russet Potatoes until they are fluffy and dry. I always ALWAYS wash my fruits and vegetables before I use them. Do you? Poke the spuds with a fork and bake them for about an hour in the oven until they are soft to the touch. I even put them in the oven cold and turn it on.

Image

This recipe also has some roasted garlic, so cut the top off a head of garlic, drizzle oil and salt and wrap in foil to roast with the potatoes. I cooked both of these at 350*. The roasted garlic will start to make your house smell really wonderful!

Image

When done, take the potatoes out with your handy dandy OXO tongs or use potholders. Let them cool for just a few minutes and then cut in half. I used an OXO Potato Ricer device and it works great for making mashed potatoes to these gnocchi. Most recipes say to peel the potatoes when using a Ricer, but I didn’t. I cut them in half and just put them flesh side down and squeezed! I was able to open the ricer and just remove the potato skin. Easy! Skipping that peeling step really saves time. It is nice to use a cooking tool to your advantage.  You can put the fluffy dry riced potato on a cutting board or counter or in a bowl. I used a bowl.

Oh! That OXO Ricer? You can totally put it in the dishwasher! I KNOW! I wasn’t sure you could, but you CAN!

Image

Squeeze the roasted garlic out of the “paper” and add the soft, sticky roasted garlic to the bowl of potatoes. I even tried using the ricer to get the last drop out of the garlic head!

You should have about 2 cups of loosely packed potato. Add 2 egg yolks and about a 1/2 to 3/4 cup of Bisquick or Jiffy Mix, some salt and pepper. Carefully mix using your hands or an OXO spatula until combined.

Image

Instead of rolling these into a long rope and cutting off a section, I used an OXO tablespoon and just scooped the dough out of the bowl and plonked it onto a piece of waxed paper. It only takes a few minutes. I sprayed the spoon with some oil to facilitate the “plop”.

Image

In the meantime, saute about 1/2 an onion in a pan with some Olive Oil. We are going to use the onions for dip and the flavored oil to saute the Gnocchi Bites to make them crispy. I even added the squeezed garlic head. The papery part  got a bit burned, so do this at your own risk. Next time, I’ll take off more of the paper.

Image

Remove the onion and set aside in a small bowl. Add 2 T. of butter to the pan and let it melt.

Bring several cups of water and salt to a boil in a large pot to cook the gnocchi for a few minutes. Carefully add the potato puffs and let it gently boil until it comes to the surface. Take out and put into the pan of flavored oil and butter and let it get browned and crispy. Keep it moving.

Image

It will smell great!

I doctored up some dip while the gnocchi’s were crisping up. I just used some good sour cream dip, a bit of good mayonnaise and the onions. Stir it up and refrigerate. My grandmother was a “doctor-er” and I find my self doing that, too. Make a purchased item your own by adding some more flavor!

Image

These are really good. They really don’t taste like traditional Potato Gnocchi but the resemblance is there. A shaving of Parmesan cheese shredded over the top will slightly melt and make it even crispier. Do yourself a favor. Get some REAL cheese and a nice grater and use this instead of the bagged stuff. It tastes SO much better!

Image

I’m attending a Blog Conference in a week called EatWriteRetreat. One contest is to create an Amazing Appetizer from a mystery ingredient. I got Potatoes! I LOVE Potatoes! I loved a dish at a local restaurant that was Potato Gnocchi in a luxurious cream sauce. I found out they used Biscuit Mix in their Gnocchi, so I thought this would be a great time to try it! These Crunchy Roasted Garlic Potato Gnocchi Bites are a FABulous appetizer! They are addictive, filling and unique. They take a little time to make, but your family and guests will say “this is AMAZING!”. And….that is why we cook!

Image

3 Comments

  1. diabeticfoodie

    Gnocchi as an appetizer? Yes, please! Hope to meet you in Philly!

Leave a Reply

