comment 0

Alice Cookies

In THIS Gramma’s House, there are ALWAYS cookies in the cookie jar. Homemade or StoreBought, we’ve got cookies. Lately, they are called “Alice Cookies” in honor of our granddaughter. I got an assignment for the EatWriteRetreat workshop I’m attending next week to make a batch of cookies with Monk Fruit In The Raw Sugar……and I knew it would be fun!Image

We were sent a recipe to make roll out sugar cookies…..and it mixed up in a breeze. The recipe used 1/2 regular sugar and 1/2 of the new sugar from In The Raw made from Monk Fruit. I’ve NEVER baked with anything but regular cane sugar, so I wondered how it would taste! Monk Fruit In The Raw Bakers Bag is an all-natural, zero calorie sugar alternative with a sweet,k clean taste that measures like sugar. Perfect for Grammas AND Alice’s!

Image

It mixed like “regular” cookies except there is one more step when you add the Monk Fruit In The Raw Sugar as a separate step. My super-duper picky daughter didn’t notice ANY difference when she snitched some of the dough. I put the dough in one plastic bag and let it rest in the refrigerator overnight.

Image

Rolling was easy peasy even right from the refrigerator. The dough was really nice and the cookies baked up perfectly. Next up, the frosting!

Image

I’ve been coloring and flavoring frostings with fruit juices lately. This one, I wanted to be light pink (Alice’s Favorite) so I made some strawberry “juice” out of some mashed and sugared strawberries. I used this “juice” as some of the liquid in my cookie frosting.

Image

We aren’t a “cookie frosting” family. We like a simple glaze of Powdered Sugar and a liquid…lemon juice, milk or 1/2 and 1/2, or even water! This one, used Strawberry “juice” and 1/2 and 1/2. I pour in the sugar, add a little liquid, and mix and add liquid until it is exactly how I want it to be.

Image

I pour my frosting into plastic decorator bottles add a tip to the lid if I want, and squeeze a small amount on the cookie and spread with a knife. These, I added a sprinkling of Sanding Sugar for glitter and crunch.

Image

Yes, I made Red Mittens! I also used some delicious Chocolate sprinkles from King Arthur Flour. They are REAL chocolate and look and smell so good on a cookie.

Image

For THIS assignment, we had to make a 4-ish inch cookie and decorate it. I chose to use a round cutter and then an alphabet cutter on the inside to spell A-L-I-C-E, a word Alice knows how to spell and read. While she napped, I decorated with the strawberry icing and the sanding sugar sprinkles. Then I waited for her to wake up!

Image

Alice Approved Cookies. These are keepers!

Image

I am entering to win a prize at the Eat Write Retreat….I’ll let you know how I do!

Leave a Reply

